STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

FILE NO. 45298

In Re Rules Relating to Continuing Professional Education

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the July 30, 1976 Order of this Court relating

to Rule 3 of the Rules Relating to Continuing Professional Education be amended

as follows:

"RULE 3 – Report of Continuing Education

"Each registered attorney duly admitted to practice in this state desiring active status must make a written report to the Board in such manner and form as the Board shall prescribe. Such report shall be filed with the Board in duplicate within 60 days after the close of the 3-year period within which such attorney is required to complete his continuing legal education requirements. Such report shall be accompanied by proof satisfactory to the Board that such attorney has completed a minimum of 45 hours of course work, either as a student or as a lecturer, in continuing legal education in courses approved by the Board as suitable and sufficient within the 3-year period just completed.

"Any registered attorney duly admitted to practice in this state who desires restricted status as hereinafter defined shall so indicate in the space provided in his annual registration statement. A restricted attorney shall not be required to maintain the educational requirements provided by these rules. An attorney in restricted status is defined as one who may not represent any person in any legal matter or proceedings within the State of Minnesota other than himself except a spouse, son, daughter, father, mother, brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law. Judges, Referees, or judicial officers, or magistrates of any court of record of the State of Minnesota or attorneys serving as legal counsel for a fulltime employer or in any governmental unit of the State of Minnesota, are not eligible to apply for restricted status until they retire or leave their position.

"A restricted attorney who desires to change his status to that of an active attorney may do so by filing with the Clerk of Court of the Supreme Court notice in writing of such intent and by further stating therein that he will conform to the rules and regulations of the State Board of Continuing Legal Education as approved by this Court and that he has not theretofore violated such rules or regulations.

"In individual cases, the Board may grant waivers or extensions of the minimum educational or the reporting requirements."

Dated: October 18, 1979

SUPREME COURT FILED OCT 2 3 1979 JOHN McCARTHY CLERK BY THE COURT

Robert J. Sheran, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of the State of Minnesota